Roles

Roles are resource objects to which Permissions are attached. Users assigned to a specific Role automatically inherit the permissions associated with that Role.

Permissions inherited from a User's Role are limited by the User's Department.

Viewing Roles

You must have permission to read Roles to perform the steps below.

  1. Visit the Roles Page at https://customdomain.com/admin/roles.

  2. If you want to search for a particular Role (or a group of Roles) based on their attributes, click the "Filter" button in the upper-left corner.

  3. Click the "View" icon in the row of your chosen Role.

You will now see the Role's details, its list of Permissions, and the activities associated with that specific Role.

Creating Roles

You must have permission to create Roles and be part of the Global Department to perform the steps below.

  1. Visit the Create Role Page at https://customdomain.com/admin/roles/create.

  2. Fill out the name of the Role.

  3. Select the Permission/s you wish to assign to the User.

  4. Click "Create".

Updating Roles

You must have permission to edit Roles to perform the steps below.

  1. On the Roles Page, click the "Edit" icon in the row of your chosen Role. Alternatively, you can go to the Role's own page and click the "Edit" icon in the upper-right corner.

  1. Update the settings you wish to change.

  2. Click "Save Edits".

  3. Confirm the action on the dialog popup.

Deleting Roles

You must have permission to delete Roles to perform the steps below.

  1. On the Roles Page, click the "More" icon in the row of your chosen Role.

  1. Click "Delete Role". Alternatively, you can go to the Role's own page and click the "Delete" icon in the upper-right corner.

  2. Confirm the action on the dialog popup.

Deleting Roles is irreversible. Users associated with a deleted Role will immediately lose all permissions inherited from that role.

Last updated